The Sound of Silence

My own miniature silent retreat

☕️ Coffee With Jaimee
2 min readMay 10, 2024
Image: from my #CoffeeWithJaimee daily doodle over dried coffee spills (a daily meditation practice.)

My 15-year-old and I leave our house at 6 a.m. every day for her bus stop.

Sometimes, when I get home, I sit in my car for fifteen or twenty minutes in the garage before I go inside and more officially start my day.
(Car off, parked inside the garage, garage door closed.)

There is no sound. There is no phone. There are no adorable, wonderful pets or other people.

It’s peaceful. For just a few minutes, I have this space.
I can collect, and feel, and breathe.

I don’t mean to make it sound like my life is “so chaotic” outside this space.
I absolutely feel gratitude for stepping into my home and being greeted by all the love of a significant other and Ernest Esteban (the rescue Chihuahua), who approaches every time like my walking through the door is the most incredible moment of his entire life. He has so many emotions about it that he can’t contain his tiny body from going in 30 circles, jumping back and forth like a miniature rocking horse, and licking the air.

This is good stuff!

Yet life, no matter how thoughtfully designed, will always have its ebbs and flows of noise and stress and clutter, and we take it all as it comes.

--

--

☕️ Coffee With Jaimee

Writer, Doodler, Professional Experimentalist. Living + Learning Out Loud. Author of 12 Ways to Be Better to Work With. Made: PictureThisClothing.com