Goo Goo Muck

A 30-Day Music Memory Series

☕️ Coffee With Jaimee
2 min readApr 27, 2023
A Bat signal, similar to what we painted on the side of our parent's car.

I remember the Summer my sister and I painted a Batman symbol on both doors of my parents’ old boaty 70s Thunderbird. This was the car they were letting us drive around in Las Vegas during the Summer months just after getting my driver’s license.

We used Tempra paints for this project because we figured it would be easy to wash off. We did a great job. The obviousness that it was hand-painted with crappy paint was part of the hilarity.

In the evenings, my sister and I would take the car for a spin down the Las Vegas Strip–usually, several times after spending whatever loose change we could scrounge up for some Taco Bell, saving quarters for the once-awesome arcade inside The Luxor.

We were almost always listening to The Cramps that Summer. “The Goo Goo Muck*” had the perfect pace for a slow roll with the windows down in our makeshift Batmobile.

Once, somewhere near Circus Circus, a wayward sprinkler struck the side of the car. It melted one of our Batman symbols.

This prompted a car wash, where we discovered the Summer sun had baked the echo of our Bat symbol into the side of the car–forever.

Is there a song that reminds you of a time you laughed so hard you cried?

☕️ Jaimee

CONTEXT: This is part of a series of music memories, a 30-day writing exercise to help me get unstuck. (It’s working!)

If you enjoyed the read, let me know with claps or comments or by sharing with someone you think may enjoy it!

*The original version of “Goo Goo Muck” was done by Ronnie Cook and the Gaylads. I didn’t learn about that version until my college days.

--

--

☕️ Coffee With Jaimee

Writer, Doodler, Professional Experimentalist. Living + Learning Out Loud. Author of 12 Ways to Be Better to Work With. Made: PictureThisClothing.com